From Urban to Rural, What Should We Expect?

March 27, 2013 § 11 Comments

IMG_0093My husband and I are steps away, God willing, from owning our own plot of land to do the things we’ve dreamed of doing for the past several years. Eighteen acres featuring a cleared area for a future home surrounded by panoramic views of rolling hills lightly speckled with neighboring homes, a creek, a pond, a barn and some wooded places and finally an old cemetery smack dab in the center, already fenced and tended by the local church.IMG_0097

Personally, I find the cemetery an intriguing feature and I don’t mind spending our days with a little history in our back yard, nor am I superstitious.

I’ll be searching wordpress for blogs on first time farmers/land owners for information on what we might expect.

As a means of earning extra income, we hope to have chickens, goats and a garden yielding produce for the local farmer’s markets. I would be responsible for those things and am pretty excited about it. I see it as an adventure I never would have imagined myself taking 10 years ago.

I would love to hear from folks about their own land owning, crop producing, animal tending, tractor driving adventures, especially those of you who went from urban to rural settings.

So far, I know to expect the following:

30 minute drives to the grocery store and everywhere else for that matter
– Fire ants (which seems weird for that area and in the colder weather)
– An entirely new and tangible understanding of the character of God in the process of gardening
– An improvement in my own character and ability through the process of tending all things on the home-front
– And finally, everything else I never expected

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to From Urban to Rural, What Should We Expect?

  • Living in the country is a huge blessing! I would not trade my 10 acres for anything. Having grown up in this setting, I have to tell you that you just made one of the best choices for your kids (current and future!). Their lives will be completely different because of where they will grow up. The work never ends–there are always places to be mowed, or landscaping to improve upon, or tree branches falling down, but you will love every second of it. We also have our own garden. We don’t produce enough to take it to market or anything, but we do end up blessing our family and friends and giving away any excess. I wish you the best as you tend to your new home. 🙂

    • tatumh2012 says:

      Thanks for the comment! It has become very important to Myke and I that we find a place for our daughter to grow up where she can run and explore and hopefully not feel so pressured to grow up too fast in all the wrong ways if you know what I mean. Right now, I don’t know a THING about what we are getting ourselves into but God is faithful, I’m up for the adventure!

  • Thank you for stopping by my blog. Your going to love rural living or at least learn to laugh and go on. I moved back to ‘Po-Dunk’ after my children were born. (I had to eat the words of ‘never looking back lest I turned into a pillar of salt) God has a sense of humor like that doesn’t he?

    • tatumh2012 says:

      Right now we’ve got a picket fence idea, at least I do, of rural living. I’m still pretty excited, though. This will be the second biggest milestone of our 13 years of marriage – the first being our daughter (also named Lillian…) Anyway, thanks for reading and God bless!

  • Marilyn says:

    I love the pictures! The barn has so much character and looks like something on a postcard. I emailed you an article on guinea hens. They will keep your land free of ticks (and other insects that damage crops). Check it out when you get the chance.
    Can’t wait to see it all!
    Mom

  • That looks like an exciting move! We would like to do the same thing in a few years. My husband grew up on a small farm and I am so impressed with the knowledge and, dare I say, pioneering mentality that he and his siblings have. I am a city-slicker so when we do the same thing in a few years, the learning curve will be steep. My Mother-in-law got us this terrific book called the Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery. It is a wonderful resource and has all the information you would need to run a small or large homestead.

  • I don’t live in a rural area, but that said, I have tried to have my own little garden each year. We also raise four hens, which I love! One of my dreams is to move out to a farm some day. I am looking forward to reading your adventures.

  • […] ← From Urban to Rural, What Should We Expect? […]

  • […] Surely, the woman described in Proverbs 31, my hero, exists today. Please, if your reading this post, tell me about your experiences and thank you to those who have already replied to my post Urban to Rural, What Should We Expect. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From Urban to Rural, What Should We Expect? at Tatum's Blog.

meta