Anatomy of Faith, three parts

March 12, 2013 § Leave a comment

I

Wall paper clings to the room like skin
The ceiling is like the face of an owl

Gold swirls methodical, militant lines and
Rows like faces
Pointy chins
Gargoyle palms
Ornate masks
Silent, pendant, on the light –
The legs of tables end in carved paws, sharp tendons. The air smells musty and all the furniture is oversized – the heavy velvet drapes don’t sway, they hang like an
Innocent figure in death, all the faces in the walls look on their glory.

Vessel cracked, sleek panes
We watch.
At the edge of the earth,
Hot breathy sigh
Bitterly quenched

The room shivers, seizing, torn in two the space that divides

II

My eyes are scales, flakey and dim –

I am cared for by those suspicious of me
I was charging, murderous, seething
Rogue zeal
I am
A Villain

I pursue those belonging to the Way
I haul their bodies through the streets
I hate
Because I believed
In figures clad like jewels – villains.

III

bell-elemsEach time I drive over a pot hole, my brain knocks around in my skull
Side to side – resounding
The anatomy of bell parts
I am
Like a bell
Crown
With ears and eyes
Neck
Shoulder
Dome
Decorative Belts
Head of tongue and staple
A strike point
Body – Skirt
Reverberating knowledge I have been told – the way I am struck – how I absorb
A beating

My axis sways
Between spirit and flesh
A stubborn defeat

I am being conformed to Him.

An Image of whom, there is always someone
Standing by who’ll tell you
New and improved theologies for a new and improved Jesus

The Axis
Who shook the world.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anatomy of Faith, three parts at Tatum's Blog.

meta

