For the Love of Writing and the Why of Blogging

March 2, 2013 § 7 Comments

Blogging is writing, but attached to blogging is a different why. Although I write everyday, I’m new to blogging. I get so excited when I check the stats on my blog and find that so and so “liked” a post or that I have a new follower.

I blog because I want to know what a reader thinks – how they are moved by what they’ve read, otherwise, I’d be content to close the cover of my journals.

I write because I love to write – from grammar to form to context – every aspect excites me – the initial idea, the drafts, the process, the end product – the editing, the reading, the technicalities, even the way words look on paper – the shapes of letters, the scratch of a pen on paper, the way the ink sinks into the smooth, white fiber, the clicking of keys on a keyboard, and metaphor, how I love it!

The way the world becomes a tunnel, a sharp ray concentrated on the page – how words and letters originate, how they are spelled, how they sound before meaning is attached to them – what the symbols mean, to pause, to stop, to emphasize – it’s like looking first at a work of art, then taking steps closer and closer until the image disappears and you see the strokes, the layers, the hidden things that have been absorbed into the whole.

You start on the surface and sink to the core and that’s where you really learn something. For me, writing is where I meet God. It’s how I process, pray and worship.

I write to convey what I love, what I hate, what I feel, what I know, what I’m told, what I learn, what I see, what I hear – the way I respond to living; I love it all.

No matter how existential something may sound or a person may feel, a writer writes because they believe something.

Writing means you move and breathe. When you put something down on paper, anonymous or known, to loved ones only or to the world – while you are still living or after you’ve died, it matters.

Only God can blot out what someone has written.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to For the Love of Writing and the Why of Blogging

  • eelifecoach says:

    I’m going to post a comment so that you know I’ve actually read your post as commenting means you care and the author matters. 😉

  • Marcy says:

    just great!

    • tatumh2012 says:

      Hey! You visited my blog! You should click follow now since you’ve aleady given your email. Actually, you’ll have to add it again, I think. I need to write a post bout you, Amber and me. Any ideas?

  • Tatum, there is no doubt in my mind that you are a writer at heart, and a very passionate one too. I wish I could say the same about myself. I look forward to reading many more of your posts in the future. I hope to learn from them as well.

    Thanks so much for sharing this. God blesses.

  • jannatwrites says:

    I’ve been blogging for nearly 3 years, and I still get excited when people ‘like’ posts and comment. (I try not to check stats very often because I found myself getting a bit obsessed over the numbers :))

    I agree with you – the interaction in blogging (the sharing of thoughts) is what makes the experience unique. Without the interaction, it may as well be a journal.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For the Love of Writing and the Why of Blogging at Tatum's Blog.

meta

