500 Words or Less

February 9, 2013 § 4 Comments

A tranquil heart is life to the body but passion is rottenness to the bones. Proverbs 14:30  NASB

Almost all other versions of the Bible translate the word “passion” as “envy” or “jealousy” which better represent what the proverb is saying.

I find myself envying the skill of a blogger named Andrea Badgley and yet so much of what she writes about the love and process of writing is like reading my own affections for the craft. Fairly new to the blogging world, like me, I can always count on getting her latest post each week.

Blogging faithfully, that is, posting at least once a week, ideally, once a day, is more challenging than I ever thought.

I journal every day and have for the past 25 years. Why on earth is it so hard to post a word or two on my blog!

The range of subjects from which to choose, the right words, the right time and amount of time are difficult to align. The problem is not that I lack material, the problem is passion for the blog, whether too much or too little.

Writing is the only work I do with my hands that must be perfect – although I am imperfect – what I mean is that I strive for perfection with every word – and as any perfectionist can attest, our own standard can be our biggest obstacle to producing anything at all.

My journal, however, is private and were it not for my compulsion to write a word in hopes that it might mean something to someone else, I would be content to close the cover of my book day to day.

When I started Tatum’s Blog, I opted to receive prompts from WordPress’s Daily Post. Admittedly, I have not written on any subject they’ve suggested yet but about three weeks ago, The Daily Post challenged bloggers to post once a day for a week, even if it meant just a few words.

That’s how I found Badgley’s blog, Butterfly Mind. She not only met the challenge but she was transparent about it, writing that she knew she was putting posts out there she didn’t always have the time to perfect but her love of writing would have to be enough, which it was, by the way.

Lily has been with Myke and I in full flesh for seven months and only now has it sunk in that I don’t have time like I did before to spend hours at the keyboard or with my pen and page.

I arise every morning between 5 and 6 – I pump, make coffee, pray and sit down to write. Lily begins to stir between 7 and 7:30 and then the day belongs to her. She’s a cat-napper; she sleeps 30 to 45 minutes a few times during the day so I can’t count on having much time to write while she naps.

Also, I seem to get less intelligent as the day progresses so, if I can’t become a night-thinker after our precious girl goes down for the evening, I’ll have to learn to say what I mean to say as precisely as possible the first time around in my posts. Anything more is a bonus.

Setting a goal I am sure to meet will build confidence and discipline. Saying I will press on and continue blogging as a new mom is too broad a goal. So, I challenge myself more specifically, and God willing, to post 500 words or less at least once a week. Let’s see what happens.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to 500 Words or Less

  • Marilyn says:

    I think this was one of your best because it was so heartfelt. You got to the “heart of the matter” which is your love of writing. Next to Lily, it is what brings out the best in you. Keep writing!:)

  • Wow, Tatum, I am honored! Honestly, it is getting harder for me as time goes on because I’m setting my standards higher and higher. Whereas before I used to just sit at the keyboard and blurt stuff out, now I find myself crippled by the countless subjects to write about, and how to treat them well. You have made me feel like its okay to still blurt, and I really appreciate that. I think your goal is a great one – it’s both inspiring and achievable. The more you produce, the more likely you are to produce something you like. At least that’s what I keep telling myself 🙂 Keep at it, and thank you so much for your kind words.

  • A New Word | says:

    […] faithful to my goal of posting 500 words or less at least once a […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 500 Words or Less at Tatum's Blog.

meta

